About TARC
Regional Councils
Citizen Corps
Emergency Preparedness
Associate Members
Bulletin Board

Find Your COG


Ark-Tex Council of Governments

North East Texas State Planning Region (5)

Executive Director
The Honorable L.D. Williamson
PO Box 5307
Texarkana, Texas 75505-5307
(903) 832-8636
Fax: (903) 832-3441
Email: ldwilliamson@atcog.org
Website: www.atcog.org
TARC Board Member
The Honorable Chris Brown
County Judge, Hopkins County
PO Box 288
Sulfur Springs, Texas 75823
(903) 438-4006
Email: cbrown@hopkinscountytx.org

Established: December 1968
Area: 6,400 sq. miles
(Includes 569 sq. miles in Miller County, Arkansas)
Population: 281,947 (2010 est.)
(Includes 39,708 population in Miller County, Arkansas)
Counties Served: Bowie, Cass, Delta, Franklin, Hopkins, Lamar, Morris, Red River, Titus

The mission of the Ark-Tex Council of Governments is to improve the social, economic, political, physical and natural environments for all citizens in the ATCOG area, on behalf of its member governmental organizations. The ATCOG achieves this mission by providing a regional perspective to service, information, and problem-solving, and by coordinating funding, resources and programs:

  • To serve membership.
  • To provide services and information to clients.
  • To coordinate regional funding, ideas and programs for a particular group of people.
  • To do collectively what would be difficult or impossible for individual governments or organizations to do separately.
  • To provide services when no other vehicle exists to do so.

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
Normally the Board shall hold regular and/or special meetings and shall be held quarterly, unless otherwise determined by the Board. Board and Executive Committee meetings are held on the last Thursday of each month unless otherwise determined by the Board.

701 Brazos, Suite 780, Austin, Texas 78701 512-478-4715 Email Us