About TARC
Regional Councils
Citizen Corps
Emergency Preparedness
Associate Members
Bulletin Board

Find Your COG


Deep East Texas Council of Governments

Deep East Texas State Planning Region (14)

Executive Director
The Honorable Lonnie Hunt
210 Premier Dr.
Jasper, TX 75951
(409) 384-5704
Email: lhunt@detcog.org
Website: www.detcog.org

TARC Board Member
The Honorable Mark Allen
County Judge, Jasper County
121 North Austin St., Room 106
Jasper, Texas 75951
(409) 384-2612
Fax: (409) 384-9745
Email: mark.allen@co.jasper.tx.us


Established: 1967
Area: 9,912 sq. miles
Population: 385,428 (2014 est.)
Counties Served: Angelina, Houston, Jasper, Nacogdoches, Newton, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, Tyler

To check for population statistic updates by region click here

By combining the resources of local governments, the Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) provides a window of opportunity for helping citizens improve their quality of life.

DETCOG has successfully worked for better intergovernmental cooperation, more efficient services, fiscal accountability, quick response to public needs, and serious economic development involvement.

We have increased interaction with state and federal government agencies; enhanced communication with the public, the press and members; and made a conscious effort to become more accessible to the citizens of Deep East Texas. As the new decade unfolds, DETCOG remains pledged to hard work, true collaboration, solid accountability, and a spirit of regionalism in all areas of endeavor.

Meeting Date:
The Executive Committee meets upon call by the President, except when the full Governing Body meets on the fourth Thursday of each month.

701 Brazos, Suite 780, Austin, Texas 78701 512-478-4715 Email Us