About TARC
Regional Councils
Citizen Corps
Emergency Preparedness
Associate Members
Bulletin Board

Find Your COG


Panhandle Regional Planning Commission

Panhandle State Planning Region (1)

Executive Director
Mr. Gary Pitner
P.O. Box 9257
Amarillo, Texas 79105-9257
(806) 372-3381
Fax: (806) 373-3268
Email: gpitner@theprpc.org

TARC Board Member
The Honorable Jay Mayden
County Judge, Childress County
100 Avenue E
Childress, Texas 79201
(940) 937-2221
Fax: (940) 937-0166
Email: childresscojudge@childresstx.net

Established: 1969
Area: 25,752 sq. miles
Population: 438,983  (2014 est.)
Counties Served: Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, Wheeler

To check for population statistic updates by region click here.

The Panhandle Regional Planning Commission is a voluntary association of cities, counties and special districts in the Texas Panhandle. The Planning Commission assists local governments in planning, developing and implementing programs designed to improve the general health, safety, and welfare of the citizens in the Texas Panhandle.

The Planning Commission is an organization of, by and for local governments. It was created based on the concept that more can be accomplished by local governments acting cooperatively rather than alone. Since 1969, the Planning Commission has been involved in a wide range of projects and programs. Activities currently include programs in the areas of employment and training, aging, community development, economic development, dispute resolution, emergency communications, criminal justice, solid waste management, water planning, regional services and technical assistance to the local governments of the Panhandle.

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
Fourth Thursday of each month.

701 Brazos, Suite 780, Austin, Texas 78701 512-478-4715 Email Us