About TARC
Regional Councils
Citizen Corps
Emergency Preparedness
Associate Members
Bulletin Board

Find Your COG


Rio Grande Council of Governments

Upper Rio Grande State Planning Region (8)

Executive Director
Ms. Annette Gutierrez
8037 Lockheed Drive, Suite 100
El Paso, TX 79925
(915) 533-0998
Email: annetteg@riocog.org
Website: www.riocog.org
TARC Board Member
The Honorable Carl L. Robinson
Northeast City Representative, City of El Paso
300 North Campbell Street
El Paso, TX 79901
(915) 212-1016
Email: District#4@elpasotexas.gov

Established: January 1967
Area: 25,509 sq. miles
(Includes 3,808 sq. miles of Dona Ana County, New Mexico)
Population: 1,065,912 (2014 est.)
(Includes 213,676 in Dona Ana County, New Mexico)
Counties Served: Brewster, Culberson, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Presidio

To check for population statistic updates by region click here.

The Rio Grande Council of Governments, commonly referred to as the RGCOG, is a voluntary association that was created in 1967 to provide continuity to governing and planning between state and local governments. The State of Texas passed the enabling legislation to create such organizations to provide services and aid to local governments. The RGCOG serves 33 local governments, seven county governments, 12 municipalities, and 14 special districts. The Council of Governments is governed by a board of directors that is comprised of 19 local officials from the area.

Board of Directors Meeting Date:
Third Friday of each month.


701 Brazos, Suite 780, Austin, Texas 78701 512-478-4715 Email Us